Laserfiche WebLink
'' 1/12/95(reso\swflow)Vk <br />RESOLUTION NO. 98-07 <br />A AESOLMION OF THE NOW OF 0OUNTY OOIORSSIONBRS OF <br />INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, TO THE UNITED STATES <br />OONSRESS, UROINO PASMON OF A SOLID WASTE FLAN <br />OONTROL BILL. <br />WHEREAS, the purpose of flow control is to protect the health and <br />environment of citizenâ–  by ensuring that local governments can responsibly <br />dispose of solid waste at well -regulated facilities; and <br />WHEREAS, Indian River County, Florida, is required by law to provide, <br />and does provide, a solid waste disposal facility for all of Indian River <br />County, Florida; and <br />WHZRBAS, as part of that obligation it was necessary for the County to <br />issue bonds secured by the stream of revenue produced by the disposal <br />facility; and <br />WHEREAS, the stream of revenue is dependent on a continuous flow of <br />solid waste from the residentâ–  and municipalities in the County; and <br />WHEREAS, without the right to control this flow the County's ability to <br />pay its bond debt and issue new bonds would be in jeopardy; and <br />WHERE, this jeopardy would preclude the County from fulfilling its <br />public health, safety, and welfare responsibilities regarding solid waste <br />disposal; <br />NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY CONMISBIONERS OF <br />INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, that: <br />1. The Board strongly urges the Congress of the United States to enact flow <br />control legislation which would protect the interests of governmental <br />bodies, such an Indian River County, which are required to provide solid <br />waste disposal facilities. <br />2. A copy of this resolution be provided to the legislative delegation for <br />Indian River County and to the National Association of Counties. <br />The resolution was moved for adoption by Commissioner Eggert, and the <br />motion was seconded by Commissioner Tippin, and, upon being put to a vote, <br />the vote was as follows: <br />Chairman Kenneth R. Macht Aye <br />Vice Chairman Fran B. Adams Aye <br />Commissioner Richard N. Bird Aye <br />Commissioner Carolyn K. Eggert Aye <br />Commissioner John W. Tippin Aye <br />(page one of two) <br />