Laserfiche WebLink
oiaa/o..i(....N .....ii)vw /(,./ii - i <br />RESOLUTION NO. 95- 130 <br />A RESOLUTION OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, TO THE <br />SECRETARY OF THE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL <br />PROTECTION OF THE STATE OF FLORIDA URGING THAT <br />PROPERTY OWNERS OF RESIDENCES WITHIN THE ARCHIE CARR <br />NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE BE ALLOWED TO MAKE <br />APPLICATION FOR CONSTRUCTION OF SEAWALLS TO PROTECT <br />THEIR PROPERTY. <br />WHEREAS, residents of certain areas of coastal Indian River County have <br />suffered severe and continuing sand loss from coastal storms; and <br />WHEREAS, several of these residents have either lost their homes or are <br />about to lose them; and <br />WHEREAS, to protect the remaining homes from falling into the ocean it <br />may be necessary to construct seawalls or other coastal armoring devices; and <br />WHEREAS, the Florida Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) has a <br />permitting process which adequately addresses environmental, safety, and <br />other public welfare issues; and <br />WHEREAS, in an effort to protect turtles in the Archie Carr National <br />Wildlife Refuge the DEP has proposed a rule which will prohibit property <br />owners within the Archie Carr administrative area from even applying for <br />coastal armoring; and <br />WHEREAS, Indian River County believes that this is an unwarranted action <br />which could result in the taking of these property owners' houses without due <br />process of law; <br />NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF <br />INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, that the Board strongly urges the Secretary of <br />the Department of Environmental Protection to take whatever steps are <br />necessary to allow property owners within the Archie Carr National Wildlife <br />Refuge the right to make application for seawalls or other coastal armoring <br />in the same manner as other barrier coastal island residents. <br />The resolution was moved for adoption by Commissioner Adams , and <br />the motion was seconded by Commissioner Bird and, upon being put to <br />a vote, the vote was as follows: <br />Chairman Kenneth R. Macht Aye <br />Vice Chairman Fran B. Adams Aye <br />Commissioner Richard N. Bird Aye <br />Commissioner Carolyn K. Eggert Absent <br />Commissioner John W. Tippin Aye <br />