Laserfiche WebLink
RESOLUTION NO. 94- 87 <br />A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF INDIAN <br />RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, AUTHORIZING THE COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT <br />DIRECTOR TO APPLY FOR AND ACCEPT AN ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT <br />ADMINISTRATION (EDA) SECTION 302(a) PLANNING ASSISTANCE GRANT <br />WHEREAS, Indian River County's average unemployment rate is <br />consistently more than 3.6 percentage points higher than the <br />state's unemployment rate; and <br />WHEREAS, the Board has made a strong committment to solve the <br />economic development problems of the county; and <br />WHEREAS, the Board is pursuing various economic development <br />activities; and <br />WHEREAS, the Board believes that an economic development <br />strategy plan is necessary to enhance the county's economy; and <br />WHEREAS, the Economic Development Administration (EDA) has <br />formally invited Indian River County to submit an application for <br />a Section 302(a) Planning Assistance Grant; <br />NOW, THEREFORE, be it resolved by the Board of County <br />Commissioners of Indian River County, Florida that: <br />1. The Board hereby authorizes Robert M. Keating, Community <br />Development Director, to apply for a Section 302(a) <br />Planning Assistance Grant from the Economic Development <br />Administration (EDA) in the amount of $75,000.00. The <br />Community Development Director is authorized to sign all <br />appropriate forms. <br />2. The Board also authorizes the Community Development <br />Director to accept the EDA grant and be accountable for <br />performance under the EDA grant. <br />3. The Board authorizes a 258 local match from county funds <br />to pay a portion of the costs associated with the grant <br />related work activities. No federal money will be <br />included in the county's share. <br />The foregoing resolution was offered by <br />Commissioner Adams and seconded by Commissioner Macht <br />and upon being put to a vote, the vote was as follows: <br />Chairman Commissioner John W. Tippin Aye <br />Vice Chairman Commissioner Kenneth R. Macht Aye <br />Commissioner Carolyn K. Eggert Ae <br />Commissioner Fran B. Adams Aye <br />Commissioner Richard N. Bird Aye <br />The Chairman thereupon declared the resolution duly passed and <br />adopted this 21st day of June, 1994. <br />