Laserfiche WebLink
ORDINANCE NO. 2021- 013 <br />AN ORDINANCE OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, <br />AMENDING SECTION 103.03 (REGULATORY <br />COMMISSIONS AND BOARDS) OF CHAPTER 103 <br />(COMMISSIONS AND BOARDS) OF THE CODE OF INDIAN <br />RIVER COUNTY IN ORDER TO INCLUDE AN ALTERNATE <br />ON THE PLANNING AND ZONING COMMISSION; <br />PROVIDING FOR CONFLICT AND SEVERABILITY; <br />PROVIDING FOR CODIFICATION; AND PROVIDING FOR <br />AN EFFECTIVE DATE. <br />NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY <br />COMMISSIONERS OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA THAT: <br />Section 1. Enactment Authority. <br />Article VIII, section 1 of the Florida Constitution and chapter 125, Florida Statutes vest <br />broad home rule powers in counties to enact ordinances, not inconsistent with general or <br />special law, for the purpose of protecting the public health, safety and welfare of the <br />residents of the county. The Indian River County Board of County Commissioners <br />specifically determines that the enactment of this ordinance is necessary to protect the <br />health, safety and welfare of the residents of Indian River County. <br />Section 2. Amendment of Section 103.03 (Regulatory commissions and boards) of <br />Chapter 103 (Commissions and boards). <br />New language indicated by underline, and deleted language indicated by . <br />Section 103.03 (Regulatory commissions and boards) of Chapter 103 (Commissions and <br />boards) of the Code of Indian River County, Florida is hereby amended to read as follows: <br />CHAPTER 103- COMMISSIONS AND BOARDS <br />Section 103.03.- Regulatory commissions and boards. <br />1.Planning and zoning commission. There is hereby created a planning and <br />zoning commission to carry out the procedures, duties, and functions set forth for <br />it in the zoning ordinances. The board shall consist of seven (7) members and <br />one alternate plus a school board representative designated and approved by the <br />school board who shall be a non-voting member of the planning and zoning <br />commission. Each county commissioner shall appoint one (1) member who must <br />reside in that commissioner's district. The remaining two (2) members and the <br />alternate shall be appointed from the public at large. The alternate shall be a <br />