Laserfiche WebLink
FF PROCLAMATION <br /> CELEBRATING THE GARDEN CLUB OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY <br /> 85TH ANNIVERSARY <br /> WHEREAS, The Garden Club of Indian River County was organized on March 31, 1928 and <br /> became a member of the Florida Federation of Garden Clubs in 1933 consisting of a corporation <br /> with a Board of Directors composed of the Officers elected by the general membership, Circle <br /> Presidents and the chairmen of committees; there are currently 230 members in nine circles; and <br /> WHEREAS, the purpose of the Garden Club is to further the education of its members and <br /> the public in the fields of gardening, floral design, horticulture, botany and landscape design; and <br /> WHEREAS, the Club also studies and aids in the protection of native plant and bird life, <br /> encourages county beautification through all available agencies, and supports and practices <br /> conservation of natural resources; and <br /> WHEREAS, monies raised by the Garden Club are reinvested in the community as part of <br /> their civic projects. Schools, parks and other non-profit organizations have been the recipients of <br /> trees and other landscape materials. Some of the organizations benefitting from the Garden <br /> Club's donations include Riverside Theater, Vero Beach Museum of Art, The Samaritan Center, <br /> the Vero Beach High School, Gifford Youth Activities Center, and the Sun Up Center, the North <br /> Aquatic Center, Osceola Magnet School, Camp Heaven, Shining Light Garden, the Environmental <br /> Learning Center, Pelican Island National Wildlife Refuge, McKee Botanical Garden, we offer <br /> scholarships to students at the University of Florida, Indian River State College and Wekiva Youth <br /> Camp. <br /> NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED BY THE BOARD OF COUNTY <br /> COMMISSIONERS, INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA that the Board congratulates the <br /> members of the Garden Club of Indian River County in celebrating 85 years. <br /> Adopted this 22"d day of October, 2013. <br /> BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, <br /> INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA <br /> 'V C�— Joseph E. Flescher, Chairman <br /> Wesley S. Davis, Vice Chairman <br /> Peter D. O'Bryan <br /> �ORIO�' <br /> Bob Solari <br /> Tim Zorc <br /> 1 <br />