Laserfiche WebLink
RESOLUTION NO. 89 - 28 <br />RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF INDIAN <br />RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA, APPROVING THE INDIAN RIVER COUNTY <br />HAZARDOUS MATERIALS EMERGENCY PLAN. <br />WHEREAS, Chapter 252, Florida Statutes, assigns to the <br />Board of County Commissioners responsibility for disaster miti- <br />gation, preparedness, response and recovery; and <br />WHEREAS, with the enactment of the Emergency Planning and <br />Community Right -To -Know Act of 1986, Congress imposed upon Local <br />Emergency Planning Committees and local governments additional <br />planning and preparedness requirements for response to emer- <br />gencies involving the release of hazardous materials; and <br />WHEREAS, each county within a Local Emergency Planning <br />District is required to develop an Emergency Response Plan for <br />Hazardous Materials to become a component part of the local <br />Emergency Planning District Plan; and <br />WHEREAS, Indian River County's Hazardous Materials Emergency <br />Plan has been reviewed and approved by the Florida State Emer- <br />gency Response Commission for Hazardous Materials as meeting <br />the criteria for such plans established by the Administrator, <br />United States Environmental Protection Agency and the National <br />Response Team; and <br />WHEREAS, this plan is intended to provide the framework <br />for the development of detailed operating procedures by first <br />response public safety agencies charged with the responsibility <br />of protecting the public's health and safety from the discharge <br />or release of extremely toxic chemicals. <br />NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS <br />OF INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA that: <br />Indian River County's Hazardous Materials Plan be hereby <br />adopted. <br />The foregoing Resolution was offered by Commissioner <br />Scurlock , who moved its adoption. The motion was seconded <br />by Commissioner Eggert and upon being put to a vote, the <br />vote was as follows: <br />CHAIRMAN GARY C. WHEELER Aye <br />VICE CHAIRMAN CAROLYN K. EGGERT Aye <br />COMMISSIONER DON C. SCURLOCK, JR. Aye <br />COMMISSIONER MARGARET C. BOWMAN Aye <br />COMMISSIONER RICHARD N. BIRD Aye <br />The Chair thereupon declared the Resolution duly passed <br />and adopted -this 14thday of March, 1989 <br />BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF <br />Attgsts.-'t INDIAN RIVER COUNTY, FLORIDA <br />B1t s <br />BY: �S/�u+�..� <br />faBarto Gar Wheeler, Chairman <br />